Helping today    Securing tommorow

Kitui county Data (2019)

About Kitui County

Kitui County is located 170Km to the South East of Nairobi City. It covers an area of about 30,496 km2. It borders Machakos and Makueni Counties to the West, Tana River County to the East, Taita-Taveta County to the South, and Embu and Tharaka- Nithi Counties to the North. The population for the county is 1,136,187 (Vol. 1 KPHC 2019) with 549,003 being male, 587,151 female and 33 persons being intersex. The county houses five sub-counties: Mwingi North, Mwingi Central, Mwingi South, Kitui West, Kitui Rural, Kitui Town, Mutitu, and Kitui South. Some Strengths of Kitui County include Natural resources like Arable land, Wildlife, Livestock, Forests, Minerals-Gemstones, Coal deposits, Tourist Attractions as Mwingi National Reserve, and Tsavo East National Park. Main Economic Activities include Livestock keeping, Tobacco, Cotton, Coffee, Mangoes, and Cowpeas, Sorghum, Beans, general business and limestone mining. The potential Minerals that the county has include wollastonite, copper, graphite, garnet, tourmaline, vanadium, sillimanite, ilmenite, iron ore, pyrite, silica, epidote, diatomite, coal, gypsum, magnesite, gold, asbestos10. 2016 data place Kitui County’s poverty rate at 39.4%11. To sum up, the county’s HDI is estimated at 0.481 being below the national average in 2012.



0 +